Audra McDonald: History Has Been Made

I have been wanting to post positive stories because I feel like this blog is more on the sad side of things, so I’m glad to be talking about a history maker, Audra McDonald. This woman right here is just amazing in all her right and it is astounding. McDonald won five Tony awards in the category of Best Leading Actress for her amazing acting skills and powerful portrayl of Bess in “The Gershwins’ Porgy and Bess.” Maybe I am not stressing the importance of this like I should: She is the first black woman to win five Tony Awards; the last black person to win a Tony in the same category was in 2006! Notice the 6 year difference?

I am so happy for her and I am so glad that I have found out about her. I don’t understand why she is not a house-hold name or why she isn’t on the cover of a lot of huge magazines, but then again they always drop the ball when it comes to talent. I find McDonald inspiring and her achievement just out of this world. She is breaking barriers and doing it while looking fly as heck. I’m glad that God has blessed this woman with amazing talent and that she was rewarded for that talent by being recognized for it and making history at the same time.

To Audra McDonald a huge congratulations, I wish you many more years of success, blessings, and life. Keep inspiring young women everywhere! Also the Tony’s is way better than the Oscars, yes I said it!

 

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

