Congrats Gabby Douglas!

This 16-year-old has made history twice in one Olympic; how many people can say that? She is the first African-American woman to win gold in an all-around gymnastics final; last to do so was Dominique Dawes, who won a bronze individually and was a part of the 1996 gold medal winning team. Then she is a part of a group of gymnastics that is a gold medal winning team. This beautiful woman has made history and I am so happy. Before the Olympics there was buzz surrounding her and thanks to the BlackGirlsClub blog I found out about Douglas representing for America. She was the main attraction for me and all I cared about was seeing her do her thing, luckily I did get to see her and I was amazed at her. She exuded so much confidence and her power with the balance beam and floor exercise left me stunned. The buzz surrounding her was on point.

It’s amazing because she is 16-years-old, she is still a kid, but she has a power that is bigger than her age. I want to say congrats to her because she is not just an Olympian but she is a gold medal Olympian history-maker and not many can say that. I wish her the best and I know her and her mother are smiling because all the sacrifices they made were more than worth it.

I’m just so happy for her and I bet she doesn’t even know how many little kids and adults she has inspired with her abilities. Just her presence alone sends out a strong message, no matter ones age you can achieve anything. I wish you many more blessings and successes Gabby and the Douglas family.

You can read the interview with her mom here.

Shape Magazine

Gabby Douglas
Taken from Shape Magazine

2 Comments

  1. Thank you Gabrielle Douglas for being such a great inspiration to all Americans. You worked very hard for this and you deserve the best things that life has to offer. You are beautiful inside and out, don’t let anyone lead you to believe otherwise. I and many others are so proud of you and we love every beautiful string of hair on your head.

  2. naturally like your web-site however you need to take a look at the spelling on quite a few of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling issues and I in finding it very troublesome to inform the reality nevertheless I will surely come back again.

Leave a Reply

