Guest Post: Sympathy For the Racist

I never understood why in almost every white show, there has to be a racist character or racist jokes made or suggestions. I just don’t understand the purpose of either. Then the fans will defend the character saying that its just a tv show and blah blah blah, smh.

BROTHA WOLF

by Lavern Merriweather

AMC’s popular zombie scarefest TV show The Walking Dead is a program that I absolutely refuse to watch ever again, and I’ll tell you why. I am about as done as a person can be with this Hollyweird fascination of making the most vile, obnoxious, racist a**hole ever created an empathetic figure I should either embrace or feel sorry for. Let me do this in my best Jamie Foxx voice, “sheeeeeeeet!”

 

Are these people just incapable of displaying an intelligence level higher than that of a common garden slug? I ask that because the character of Merle Dixon played by prolific actor Micheal Rooker on ‘Dead’ is just another in a long line of bigoted pricks the writers expect us to root for, despite how despicable their attitude and behavior is. I also wasn’t that crazy about his ‘big bad racist’ moment where he gets to…

View original post 659 more words

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

