Sonny Charles and The Checkmates: Black Pearl

A very beautiful song. Thanks Abagond for sharing it.

Abagond

Remarks:

This song came out May 1969, going to #8 on the American R&B charts and #13 on the pop charts.

Lyrics:

Ooh, hoo
Yeah, yeah, yeah
My, my, my, my

Black pearl
Precious little girl
Let me put you up
Where you belong

Black pearl
Pretty little girl
You been in the background
Much too long

You been working so hard
Your whole life through
Tending other peoples houses
Raising up their children too

Hey, how about
Something for me and you

Here in my arms
You’re gonna reign supreme
No more serving, baby
They’re gonna serve my queen

It’s our turn for happiness
And our day has come
Living for each other
Answering to no one

Black pearl
Precious little girl
Let me put you up
Where you belong
Because I love you

Black pearl
Pretty little girl
You been in the background
Much too long

Together we’ll…

View original post 167 more words

Leave a Reply

