#FergusonOctober Ignites a Generation

These thoughts are more common and shared more than anyone knows. I enjoy the focus and attention on what women face because the male struggle for whatever reason appear to overshadow the harsh realty of what women go through and that needs to end.

Awake Black Woman

This post had been a long time coming, and in truth I was rendered unable to write anything coherently for a long while. I still really can’t, but NEEDS MUST and so here I am. I’ve also sprinkled lots of twitter hashtags around – you should check those out. First, a brief background on who I am and what I’ve done so you know where I’m coming from.

My parents marched with Dr. King. My siblings and I grew up in a household that taught us what civil disobedience was and is, and why it was necessary at times to engage in activism. I learned about boycotts. I remember as a kid old going to a rally that was protesting the South African Krugerrand. When I was 15 or 16 I got arrested at Cal Berkeley for “obstruction of a public walkway” while I was participating in a sit-in urging the…

View original post 3,272 more words

Leave a Reply

