Spotlight of the day: Esteria Smith

Runaway Car
When Panama City, FL dad John Smith drove 9-year-old Esteria home from karate one day, things got scary. “He told me he couldn’t see and started panicking saying, ‘I don’t know what to eat!’” Esteria told NBC affiliate WJHG-TV.

Esteria then took the wheel and drove eight blocks to a hospital. “He was fighting with me and I couldn’t make turns,” she said. “He was pushing the accelerator and I was [in the backseat] reaching over him Esteria then took the wheel and drove eight blocks to a hospital.

“He was fighting with me and I couldn’t make turns,” she said. “He was pushing the accelerator and I was [in the backseat] reaching over him, driving with one hand. I hit a curve and we almost ran in the front of an ambulance!”
By the time they got to the hospital, John had lost his vision, motor skills, memory and, eventually, consciousness. The diagnosis: a stage-four brain tumor, which Smith is now fighting.
photo via WJHG

Leave a comment